Anzeige | Advertising | Imprint | data protection

One World Award: winners selected

by Editor (comments: 0)

OWA 2014

Picture: all award winners and jury at the OWA 2014

The fifth One World Award (OWA) prizes and the OWA Lifetime Achievement Award (in recognition of outstanding services to the organic cause) will be presented at a festive gala on 8 September 2017 in Legau in southern Germany. 

At the headquarters of Rapunzel, one of the leading organic food manufacturers in Europe,  they are holding the One World Festival. Every three years Rapunzel, together with IFOAM - the umbrella organisation for the organic agriculture movement worldwide, invite applications for the One World Award (OWA) and the OWA Lifetime Achievement Award.

Every three years the One World Award jury has the difficult task of selecting the prize winners from the many outstanding applications from all round the world. Rapunzel has now announced who the winners are. The prestigious One World Award is endowed with a total of 45,000 euros and is given in recognition of people, projects, initiatives and innovative ideas that create real ecological, social and economic improvements and help to bring about a fairer world.

OWA statue by Dao DrosteThe OWA prize winners for 2017:

- Pioneer for fair trade and organic agriculture in the Middle East, Nasser Abufarha/Palestine

- Soil scientist and founder of the organic movement in his country, Professor Amin Babayev/Azerbaijan

- His Excellency Prime Minister Shri Pawan Chamling and the organic movement of the federal state of Sikkim/India

- The (young) organic and fair trade pioneer Shamiso Mungwashu/Zimbabwe

- United World Colleges (UWC) with its schools and colleges in Freiburg/Germany and Pune/India

One of these five will be the OWA Laureate

At the same time the jury, Nnimmo Bassey (Alternative Nobel Prize Winner, Nigeria), Roberto Ugas (IFOAM – Organics International, Peru), Vandana Shiva (Alternative Nobel Prize Winner, India) and Joseph Wilhelm (Rapunzel Naturkost, Germany) decided who wins the OWA Grand Prix of 25,000 euros and becomes the OWA Laureate. Joseph Wilhelm, OWA founder and donor of the prizes, said how pleased he was with all the choices made: “Never before has the work of the 'encouragers' receiving the OWA awards been more important for our future than today, because it demonstrates that there are alternatives to injustice, suppression and egoistic nationalism.”

OWA Lifetime Achievement Award: winner selected

The OWA Lifetime Achievement Award has been won by a couple in Africa: Sue Edwards and her husband Tewolde Berhan Begre Egziabher from Ethiopa are pioneers of the organic movement and are honoured not only in their home country but across the whole African continent.

Rapunzel founder and CEO Joseph Wilhelm

Picture: Rapunzel founder and CEO Joseph Wilhelm







Go back