Anzeige | Advertising | Imprint | data protection

Call for Nominations: International One World Award

by Editor (comments: 0)

Joseph Wilhelm at the OWA 2017
Joseph Wilhelm at the OWA 2017. © bio verlag/Karin Heinze

It is once again time to nominate innovation ideas, projects, and individuals from around the world for the One World Award (OWA). This international award will be presented for the sixth time by organic food producer Rapunzel and global non-profit IFOAM – Organics International.

The call for nominations will run until September 30, 2019. From the nominees, five laureates will be selected to receive this encourager award at a celebratory gala hosted by Rapunzel in September 2020 in Legau/Allgäu, Germany.

Endowed at a sum of 45,000 Euros, the OWA honors individuals who steer globalization in a positive and humane direction. Winning projects will incorporate ecological, economic, and social elements. The OWA committee will select 5 finalists from an international pool of applicants in autumn 2019.

“The One World Award highlights extraordinary individuals and impactful initiatives. We are inspired by the vibrancy and energy of nominations and laureates. Through their stories of success, they show us that a better world is not only possible but also attainable! The OWA prize opens our eyes to the fact that there is another way to do things,” 

– Louise Luttikholt, Executive Director of IFOAM – Organics International.

Laureates and their projects will be honored and presented at the 2020 gala. Four laureates will receive a cash prize of 5,000 Euros and an OWA medal. One winner, the best of the best, will be awarded the OWA Gold Award by an international jury. In addition to a bronze “Lady OWA” statute, the OWA Gold Award winner will receive a 25,000 Euro cash prize. All prize money is sponsored by Rapunzel.

"At a time when global political leadership is increasingly characterized by egocentricity and nationalism, the OWA prize is more necessary than ever – therefore nominate now!” 

– Joseph Wilhelm, OWA initiator and founder/director of Rapunzel

Information about OWA participation terms and prior winners can be found online at

Read also:

One World Award: Winners of the year 2017

Rapunzel Naturkost awarded five people with the One World Award (OWA). The prizes were handed over by Dr Gerd Müller, federal development minister, and Joseph Wilhelm, chief executive of Rapunzel.

New Managing Director at Rapunzel

Company founders Joseph Wilhelm and Margit Epple are no longer alone at the head of Rapunzel. This is because the organic producer from the Allgäu region has welcomed a new member to its management team.

„Entrepreneur Of The Year 2017”

Rapunzel founder Josef Wilhelm was honored as „Entrepreneur of the Year 2017“. The award jury was particularly impressed by the social commitment of the organic food manufacturer from the Allgäu region and its worldwide activities with agricultural partners and suppliers.


Go back